Clinics and Training Series

It's great to finally be getting some race miles in! 
Just want to encourage you all - old and new riders alike - to take advantage of the various clinics and training series that are happening on both sides of the state. 
There's lots being done to improve the racing experience and safety for all categories. Please tune into the MBRA Facebook page for information on upcoming training opportunities. 

Memorial for Jeff Surnow

Hello Michigan Bicycle Racing Community,

It was with deep sadness that we learned last week that Jeff Surnow was killed while cycling in Hawaii. Jeff was the driving force behind the Birmingham Bike Festival and a member of the Wolverine Sports Club. I had the pleasure of working with Jeff for the past 3 summers at his event; he was an amazing race director who always had a huge smile on his face.

The MBRA, Wolverine Sports Club and USA Cycling would like to have a tree($1,500), bench with plaque($1,500) and drinking fountain($6,000) installed in Barnum park in Birmingham which is near where Jeff used to ride. We are hoping that the cycling community will come together and support this project. Any additional funds generated will be donated to Wish-A-Mile a charity that Jeff was passionate about.
Please take a moment and consider donating.
Funds can be sent through PayPal,  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or by mailing a check to the MBRA Memorial Fund, 395 Whitewater, Milford, MI 48381
The Michigan Bicycle Racing Association
Adrian Fear, Executive Director
Mark Bush, Assistnat Director
John Sammut, Director of Officials
Laura Melendez, Director of Women’s Racing
Sandra Morton, Director of Junior Development 

Jeff Surnow

March 2nd: The Michigan cycling community is stunned and saddened today by the tragic loss of Jeff Surnow. He was fatally struck by a motorist while riding on the Island of Hawaii on Sunday morning.
A member of the Wolverine Sports Club, Jeff was the driving force behind the Birmingham Bike Festival. He was big supporter of the Club, Michigan cycling, and was a popular fixture on many of the Birmingham rides.

Our most sincere sympathies go to his wife and his family.

Challenge Series Points Leaders

Points updated through Debaets-Devos Pro-Am Memorial Bicycle Race (2014-09-01)